[SOLVED] New to php

PeterRod

Hi,

I'm new to php. I have a shared resources website on GoDad running on a windows platform. All the webpages are .html. I successfully coded a php script for a contact form accessed via formAction. Now I want to try a simple todays date script from the .html page. It seems that the server/php is ignoring my embedded php script.

<?php

$time = time();

$tme = date("l jS F Y ", $time);

print "<p style ='position: absolute; top:6px; left:20px;font-size:14px;text-decoration:none; color:#c0c0c0'>$tme</p>";

?>

What should I do?

echo does not work also

I use notepad to edit and upload to the root directory as I do not have php/apache installed

Did you say the code is in a file with a .html extension? By default the server will probably only parse PHP in files with the extension .php, So you could either change the extension, or if you don't wish to do this (as you don't want to mess up back links etc) you can (assuming you are able to add a .htaccess file) use a .htaccess file to tell Apache to parse php in .html files. I think it's something like...

AddType application/x-httpd-php .html

Did you say the code is in a file with a .html extension? By default the server will probably only parse PHP in files with the extension .php, So you could either change the extension, or if you don't wish to do this (as you don't want to mess up back links etc) you can (assuming you are able to add a .htaccess file) use a .htaccess file to tell Apache to parse php in .html files. I think it's something like...

Yes the php code is in a .html file. The website is on a windows platform so i believe there is no .htaccess file.  Where do I put your suggestion in the .html file? after <body> or where?

Yes the php code is in a .html file. The website is on a windows platform so i believe there is no .htaccess file.  Where do I put your suggestion in the .html file? after <body> or where?