[SOLVED] Reg expression question.

nomadsoul

Hi,

I tested this expression to see if it works before I use it for  validating.  I don't understand why it returns: "invalid email id" Can anyone tell me?  I'm not very good with regular expressions.

$email = "myemail@gmail.com";

if (ereg('^[a-zA-Z0-9._-]+@[a-zA-Z0-9._-]+.([a-zA-Z]{2,4})$','$email'))
{
echo 'Valid email id';
} else {
echo 'Invalid email id';
}

ereg is a deprecated function, you should probably look at using preg_match instead. But I believe your problem is where you match the fullstop between the domain and the domain extension. Since the fullstop is not escaped it will match any character, which will mess up the pattern. but a backslash in before it should fix that.

ereg is a deprecated function, you should probably look at using preg_match instead. But I believe your problem is where you match the fullstop between the domain and the domain extension. Since the fullstop is not escaped it will match any character, which will mess up the pattern. but a backslash in before it should fix that.

not escaping the dot would not break it per se (it wouldn't break it in this instance, anyways).  It'll match (most) anything including a literal dot.  Danger of not escaping it is that it can match more than a literal dot.

anywhoo...your regex is failing because of this:

'$email'

You have $email wrapped in single quotes which causes ereg to interpret literally.  Remove the quotes.

Also as cags mentioned, move to preg_match instead of ereg. Only thing you really need to change for that is you need to add delimeters to your regex.

You're right, I was thinking of matching an email within as string not matching an e-mail as a string (ie I was ignoring the ^ and $). So with everything being greedy it would match pretty much anything after the @ (except line breaks). Good catch on the single quotes, I didn't even notice that.