[SOLVED] preg_match_all - I give up

lyanaru

Never been here before, but I hope this place is active.

I am running a guild site based off of drupal. Anyways I am trying to use the preg_match_all function and having no luck whatsoever. I have never used regular expressions before so I have really no idea what I am doing. Here is my code:

<?php

$karmaurl = file_get_contents("http://domainnamehere.com/page/karma?raid=Twist&sort=karma");

preg_match_all("#<td width=150 class=\'karmakeep\'>(.*)</td>#i", $karmaurl, $nameout);

preg_match_all("#<td width=50 class=\'numberkarmakeep\'>(.*)</td>#i", $karmaurl, $karmaout);

echo "<table>";

echo "<tr>";

echo $nameout[0][0];

echo $karmaout[0][0];

echo "</tr>";

echo "<tr>";

echo $nameout[0][1];

echo $karmaout[0][1];

echo "</tr>";

echo "<tr>";

echo $nameout[0][2];

echo $karmaout[0][2];

echo "</tr>";

echo "<tr>";

echo $nameout[0][3];

echo $karmaout[0][3];

echo "</tr>";

echo "<tr>";

echo $nameout[0][4];

echo $karmaout[0][4];

echo "</tr>";

echo "</table>";

?>

The source I am pulling is basically just a table. What I would have intuitivly thought would be that I turn the bits I am interested in into an array then I can call the bits into my table, since they have td in them I dont need to have that and I would just grab the first 5 since that is what I want.

What happens is I do get the first 5, but then it is repeated ad nausium taking the page 5 minutes to load and creating a royal mess. all I want are the first 5 entries. I only want them listed once not 1000 times.

So what is causing this and what am I doing wrong? Is there a better way to go about pulling specific and similar pieces of information from source code?

Probably worth noting that it does pull the information and lists it in a table correctly (a miracle in itself), it just seems to feel the need to repeat it more than I *thought* I told it to. Allot more.