PHP mssql help

Mohanddo

Hello i just started learning php yesterday and i wanted to make a simple login system. Im using a mssql database for this and no matter what i do im just not getting any results. Ive enabled mssql extension in php.ini already. Here is the php code:

<?php
$username = $_POST['username'];
$password = $_POST['password'];
$server = '127.0.0.1\SQLEXPRESS';
$link = mssql_connect($server, 'username', 'pass');
if(!$link)
{
    die('Error connecting to server');
}
mssql_select_db('ACCOUNT_DBF', $link);
$query = mssql_query("SELECT account, password FROM ACCOUNT WHERE account = '$username' ");
$loginrow = mssql_fetch_assoc($query);

echo $loginrow['account'];

?>

After i press the submit button i just get a blank page.

Am i going wrong somewhere?  :confused:

Thnx for your time.

The OP is checking $link and if it is FALSE is exiting the script using die, therefore it should be connected fine. I'd guess the Query is either failing or simply not finding a row that matches. Unfortunately, never having worked with mssql I'm not sure how you'd go about debugging it correctly. Checking if $query is equal to FALSE before passing it to mssql_fetch_assoc would be a good start though.

Well if I run it I get...

Notice: Undefined index: username in C:\xampp\htdocs\sandbox\index.php on line 3

Notice: Undefined index: password in C:\xampp\htdocs\sandbox\index.php on line 4

Warning: mssql_connect() [function.mssql-connect]: Unable to connect to server: 127.0.0.1\SQLEXPRESS in C:\xampp\htdocs\sandbox\index.php on line 6

Error connecting to server

Well if I run it I get...

Notice: Undefined index: username in C:\xampp\htdocs\sandbox\index.php on line 3

Notice: Undefined index: password in C:\xampp\htdocs\sandbox\index.php on line 4

Warning: mssql_connect() [function.mssql-connect]: Unable to connect to server: 127.0.0.1\SQLEXPRESS in C:\xampp\htdocs\sandbox\index.php on line 6

Error connecting to server