Connection/User privileges problem - need help fast please

SaturdayNightSpecial

Hello,

i would greatly appreciate any help I could get as soon as possible, I've got to go to a trade show tomorrow to pitch this new site and I can't get my local server set up.

I just did a fresh download of xammp, the php ver. is 3.2.0.1 with MySql ver. 5.1.37 running on XP.  I'm very new to site design and especially php/mysql but i did get it running fine on my desktop.  With this new installation I never get a login screen.  It runs fine on the default root@localhost login but I can't get it to work with an additional user privilege of root@locahost using the password that my site uses on the desktop.  I can change the host on the default root username to 127.0.0.1 like I have it on the desktop and it says it was saved but then i get the error message "Access denied for user root@localhost (using password "No")  and it never displays a login screen.  i then have to uninstall and reinstall xammp to take another shot at it but I'm running out of time.  There's no "Exit" icon in the top left beside the "home" button either.  I'm not sure if there was a setting that I did on the desktop install to get the login screen or not but if there was i don't remember what it was.

Again, any help would be greatly appreciated.

I added a new user in phpMyadmin with the host set to 127.0.0.1 and saving a copy of the old default root@localhost  I then edited the root@localhost to have a password.  Then I used the config.ini flie from my desktop which already had authentication turned on and now i get the login page.  It still won't login without a password even though the "AllowNoPassword" in the config file is set to true but i can deal with that problem since i always logging in with the password anyway.