Seeking: opportunities or expert advice

kevint

Hey guys  8)

So, I'm new to this website.  Actually, today I intended to sign up for the forums on php.net (which I just assumed would exist) and post something like this.  Their mailing list structure didn't appeal to me; I wanted a forum.  I'm not sure that this category is the right place for this post, but I couldn't find a cat. that seemed 100% appropriate.  So, here goes:

I'm a big web enthusiast, and have been for quite a long time.  I do not work in the web industry.  I am aware of more technologies/ concepts than ones I can actually implement (example, I know what Rails and AJAX are, but have never used either.  I understand what people mean by 'object-oriented', but I'm not an expert programmer in any language).  So, that's a bit about me.

I want to do this for a living, eventually.  I've been dabbling since I was 8 or 9 (I'm 24 btw), but never made any decisions until now (I have lots of other interests, too; probably, like you guys do as well).  Here is my current situation, and the problem that follows from it:

It will be a little while before I can actually switch jobs and go back to school for this (maybe a year or two).  So for now I am trying to build up my skills at home.  I read voraciously about all of it.  But I find you need to actually DO stuff (produce) to transfer all the theory you learn by reading into real, usable skills.

I knew a bit of php (and when I say a bit, I mean I knew how to make Hello World) years ago, and I always liked the idea of it.  So I decided I would learn that.  And MySQL.  We have a lot of computers where I work, and a lot of times they need to be replaced, upgraded, etc.  The shocking thing was, there was no central record of all that we had, or where any of it was located within the organization, etc.