using email function to send email (not working) help!!

Angelojoseph17

I have an form , which has a few fields, when filled, the form calls a php file called insert.php which inserts the records from the form into a database and also what I'm trying to is send an email of the records within the same script. I'm new to php can anyone help. below is the code.

<?php

$con = mysql_connect("localhost","me","mypassword");

if (!$con)

{

die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());

}

mysql_select_db("final_project", $con);

$sql="INSERT INTO Persons (Username,FirstName, LastName, Department,Issue,Category)

VALUES

('$_POST[username]', '$_POST[Firstname]','$_POST[Lastname]','$_POST[Department]','$_POST[issue]','$_POST[Category]')";

if (!mysql_query($sql,$con))

{

die('Error: ' . mysql_error());

}

mysql_close($con)

$email = $HTTP_POST_VARS['email'];

$Firstname = $HTTP_POST_VARS['Firstname'];

$Lastname = $HTTP_POST_VARS['Lastname'];

$Issue = $HTTP_POST_VARS['Issue'];

$Category = $HTTP_POST_VARS['Category'];

if( mail($email,$Firstname,$Lastname,$Issue,$Category)){

print ("your mail was sucessfully sent to $email");

}else

print "unable to send mail to $to";

echo "<br>";

echo "You records have been updated";

?>

i concur with jay that http_post_vars may be deprecated, i do not understand that you used $_POST for database insertion and not for storing into variables, and you are doing double the work, here is how i would code it:

<?php
$con = mysql_connect("localhost","me","mypassword");
if (!$con)
  {
  die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
  }

mysql_select_db("final_project", $con);

$username = $_POST['Username'];
$email = $_POST['email'];
$Firstname = $_POST['Firstname'];
$Lastname = $_POST['Lastname'];
$Issue = $_POST['Issue'];
$Category = $_POST['Category'];
$Dept = $_POST[Department];

$sql="INSERT INTO Persons (Username,FirstName, LastName, Department,Issue,Category)
VALUES