Order By Hell.....

Roq

I'm a network engineer and at my company we have many sites in random cities around the US, EU, etc... Our hostnames look something like this...

cr1.se1

cr2.se1

cr1.se2

cr2.se2

cr1.se3

cr2.se3

cr1.bo1

cr2.bo1

cr1.bo2

cr2.bo2

This is just an example but it's basically "Core Router X, Seattle1, Seattle 2, Boton 1" etc....The problem is I want to sort these based on site, and not device type.  Obviously sorting by hostname gives all the ASA's, then all the border routers, then core routers, etc etc....I care more about grouping by everything AFTER the period.....

Any ideas?

Hi

Think he wants it in the order

cr1.bo1

cr2.bo1

cr1.bo2

cr2.bo2

cr1.se1

cr2.se1

cr1.se2

cr2.se2

cr1.se3

cr2.se3

However without using substring functions to extract it (which would be slow) not sure I can see a way of doing it.

Would be better if the original table design split that code into 2 seperate string fields.

All the best

Keith

Keith, that is exactly what I want.  I've tried some substring functions but can't seem to get them to work (with MySQL at least, I can do it on the PHP side of things)... Could you give an example of how to get them to sort like that? 

Just finish a simple query like this:

select * from devicelist order by ***substring functions of the hostname field***

That is very close.  The problem is that we're being strict on the 5, 3 part, and I have 4 devices that don't match the exact standard, since they are:

csr1.bo1

csr2.bo1

csr1.se1

csr2.se1

These devices unfortunately make the 'RouterLocation' .bo and .se, isntead of bo1 and se1.  I've tried dabbling with REVERSE() but couldn't seem to get it right.  The problem with just doing a reverse is it starts sorting by the 1's, then 2's, etc...