Multidimensional Array into an Html table, help!

Ageneric

Hello all, I am new to HTML/PHP so any help would be great.

I have a multidimensional array filled with values that I am trying to output into an html table. 

This works (outputs value of array):

echo $table[0][0];

This does not work (outputs "Array[0]" instead of the actual value within the table):

echo "<table border = 1>\n";
echo "<td>Col 1</td><td>Col 2</td><td>Col 3</td>";
echo "</tr>\n";
echo "<td>$table[0][0]</td><td>$table[0][0]</td><td>$table[0][0]</td>";
echo "</table>\n";

I was going to use a couple of loops to output the array into the table however the way I have above is not working and really screwing me up.  Does anyone have a solution?  Thanks

Something like:

$j = count($array);

$i=1;

echo '<table><tr>';

for($i;$i<=$j'$i++)

{

echo "<td>Col $i</td>";

}

echo "</tr><tr>";

foreach ($array as $sub)

{

$i=1;

foreach($sub as $item)

{

echo "<td>$item</td>";

if ($i%$j==0){echo "</tr><tr>";}

}

$i++;

}

HTH

Teamatomic

Personally, I perfer to include my variables within the quoted string. The problem you were having is caused by how PHP interprets the multidimensional array in the string. You can overcome that by enclosing the variable within curly braces. I typically always enclose my variables in that manner.

Example:

echo "<table border=\"1\">\n";
echo "<tr>\n";
echo "<td>Col 1</td><td>Col 2</td><td>Col 3</td>";
echo "</tr>\n";
echo "<tr>\n";
echo "<td>{$table[0][0]}</td><td>{$table[0][0]}</td><td>{$table[0][0]}</td>";
echo "</tr>\n";
echo "</table>\n";

Personally, I perfer to include my variables within the quoted string. The problem you were having is caused by how PHP interprets the multidimensional array in the string. You can overcome that by enclosing the variable within curly braces. I typically always enclose my variables in that manner.