Subversion Assistance Needed

NoSalt

Hello All

I'm not sure if this is the correct place to post this, but it seemed the best option out of the other choices on this forum. I have decided that I would start to use Subversion to control my PHP projects (instead of my home-grown version control), and I would like some assistance please. I have never used Subversion before but my co-workers cannot say enough good things about it. I have been doing some reading about how to set-up and use Subversion but I have been confused by some things. Whenever I read a "how to" talk about setting up a repository they always start out in "/home/username". The only problem is that PHP will not run from that location; as we all know, it must run from "/var/www/html". So I guess my question is can I set up a repository in "/var/www/html" instead of my home directory? Also, what about the fact that I already have many PHP projects in the web root? Will SVN overwrite or duplicate any of the code that is already there when I create the new repository?

As I am a complete newbie at this, any and all assistance will be appreciated. Thanks, and have a great day.  :)

When working with SVN you need to distinguish two things:

SVN repository - this is where SVN keeps information about versioned files. This can be stored literally anywhere you wish, as long as you can access it from your computer.

Working copy directory - this is where you do your work (probably in your web root in this case). To get latest copy of versioned files from repository, you need to do a 'checkout' to this folder.

For more details see: http://svnbook.red-bean.com/

• 2 weeks later...
as we all know, it must run from "/var/www/html"

PHP runs wherever you tell it to.  You'd want to read the Apache documentation to see how to configure it to run from elsewhere or how to set up each virtual host to come from a different document_root.

Here's a good way to set up Subversion.