Include path won't work..

Slips

Hi,

Firstly thanks for reading this post, im a beginner at php, so this is a fairly simple problem :)

I am trying to include a file with the default include path on a linux server. The include path is '.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php'. If my hosting account username was username4, all the subfolders in my hosting account are under username4. Ex: username4/public_html , username4/lib etc.. I dont have a very strong understanding of how linux directories work but from what i read up quickly over 3 hours, i decided to try and toss a file into the following folder and include it : username4/lib/php and it could not be found. I'm not sure whether i have to modify the include path or if i placed the file in the wrong directory. Help is greatly appreciated  :D

The include should have a path from the originating file location. i.e If my directory/file structure was:

/docs/index.php

/docs/includes/functions/common.php

Within index.php if I wanted to include the common.php functions file I would simply use:

<?php
// index.php
include('includes/functions/common.php');
?>

In your case public_html/ is the document root, so your index.php file sits in that directory.