Form rows as an array of text boxes for data entry

bulrush

I am somewhat new to PHP. I am going through a PHP tutorial book "Head First: PHP and MySql". So I know the PHP basics. But none of their examples cover what I need to do in a real world application.

I would like to make a form with many columns per row, with multiple rows. Ideally each row would be an entry in an array, so the user can enter 10 rows at once, and save them all at once. My form with one row looks like this:

<form action="<?php echo $_SERVER['PHP_SELF']; ?>" method="post">

<table>
<tr><td>Description <td>Number <td>Price 
<tr><td><input type="text" name="txtDesc" value="<?php if (!empty($desc)) echo $desc; ?>" size="45">
    <td><input type="text" name="txtModel" value="<?php if (!empty($model)) echo $model; ?>" size="20">
    <td><input type="text" name="txtPrice" value="<?php if (!empty($price)) echo $price; ?>" size="6">
</table>

<p>

<p>Commands: <input type="submit" name="submit" value="save">

</form>

Now, how can I turn this into 10 rows, like an array?

I think so. In Visual Basic I think it's called a Data Grid, or simply a Grid control. I'm not sure what the PHP term is.

But yes, I want to display n rows on the New Record Entry screen, where each row would become a new record in a table. Later, I will make a screen to edit existing records. This screen is for mass entry of new records.

Data Grid isn't bind to any one specific language. But there's definitely a way to do that. One way would be to give them separate names like: txtDec1, txtDec2, etc.

You can initially set up a table with 10 rows, all editable fields. Then have a button to add more if need be. Use JavaScript to save how many rows are added + the original 10. Then upon submit, have JavaScript fill a hidden field with that count and have PHP do a loop through them all.