HELP!!!!! Blank Page

indz

Hi All,

I am looking for suggestions to help debug this problem ASAP. I am fairly new to PHP, this is my first database attempt. I am using a Computerized Maintenance Management System obtained for free from http://www.maintenance-software.org/. I think I have the database information entered in properly, it is shown below:

<database type="mysql">

<server>localhost</server>

<login>root</login>

<password></password>

<default>cmms</default>

</database>

I'm running the system using windows XP Pro, PHP 5.3.1.

The attachment contains the original open source files.

Thanks in Advance

[attachment deleted by admin]

A) Blank php pages are usually caused by fatal parse or fatal runtime errors. Are you developing and debugging this on a system with error_reporting set to E_ALL and  display_errors set to ON in your master php.ini so that php will both report and display all the errors it detects? You will also want to go through the code and remove/comment out any lines that are setting error_reporting/display_errors.

B) This is the second major script I have seen lately that puts sensitive information into a .xml file (i.e. your database connection details.) However, anyone that recognizes the script will know that they can simply browse to the site.xml file and get your database connection information. You must take steps to insure that the site.xml file is not web accessible. You either need to prevent http access to the file or move it to a folder that is not web accessible.

Hi There,

Thanks for the reply.

I added the code to the PHP page....index.php

<?php

ini_set('display_errors',1);

error_reporting(E_ALL);

require "config.php";

$site = new CSite("./site.xml",true);

$site->Run();

?>

I am still getting a blank page.

I've also tested in a live server (Windows platform), still getting a blank page over there.

Thanks again for the quick reply.