Updating data in database

wikop

Hi. I am new in PHP, i am new user in this forum. I've just registered because in forums in my language (polish) i hadn't found answer of my question. Anyway.

I want to make some kind of Admin Panel where i can change data in tables using POST.  But i don't know how to do button which will send to mysql an query about changing this data. I wan't to make it flexible - query changes when i add a table.

Can i do this or i must make that separately ?

Sorry for my bad english

$connection = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "root")
or die('Brak po³¹czenia z serwerem MySQL');
$db = mysql_select_db("podreglami")
or die('Nie mogê po³¹czyæ siê z baz¹ danych');

$query = "SELECT tresc FROM `teksty`";
$result= mysql_query($query);
while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result))
{
echo(' <textarea rows="10" cols="60" name="'	.$row['tytul']. '">'	.$row['tresc'].'	</textarea><br /><br />');
}

For starters, you are going to have to throw all of your text areas into a <form> tag.  This will tell the web browser where to send the data once the button has been pressed.

After that, you will need to add the actual submit button and then process the information which is sent to the processing script.

[php

$query = "SELECT tresc FROM `teksty`";
$result= mysql_query($query);

echo "<form method = 'post' action = ''>"; // Tell the form to send data through $_POST and then send it back to the current page

while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result))
{
echo(' <textarea rows="10" cols="60" name="' .$row['tytul']. '">' .$row['tresc'].' </textarea><br /><br />');
}

echo "<input type = 'submit' value = 'Save Settings' />"; // Add the 'sending' button

echo "</form>";
[/code]

Then for the processing part, which would probably end up being placed above the previous code, you could do something like this.

foreach ( $_POST as $key => $value ) // Loop through all of the posted values (and their associated keys (keys are the 'name' field from the HTML) )
     {