How to use DATE_SUB() to perform count()'s over multiple datetime periods

jayarsee

I'm not very experienced with MySQL's date functions, so I've got what I think is a very incorrect/verbose and overcomplicated solution to my problem and I was wondering if someone with more experience in this area could at least point me in a better direction, if it exists.

This:

SELECT count(id)
FROM eventlog_events
WHERE event_id = 12
AND DATE_SUB(CURDATE(),INTERVAL 1 WEEK) <= datetime;

Tells me how many times a certain event in the eventlog_events table occurred within the last week, where datetime is the name of the field that records when it occurred and is also a "datetime" type, event_id is the type of event since the table records several types. However, I need to know not only how many times the event occurred within the last week, but how many times it occurred within each of the last 12 weeks. Further, I need to get this information for 3 different event_id's.

In natural language the information I want MySQL to tell me is "The event occurred 15 times during the last week (7-day period), 13 times the week before that, 19 times the week before that," etc

The only solution I have so far is to subtract two of these statements with different intervals to get the count in the period I want, and repeat this for each event_id, so for instance:

SELECT
(SELECT count(id)
FROM eventlog_events
WHERE event_id = 12
AND DATE_SUB(
CURDATE(),INTERVAL 4 WEEK
) <= datetime)
-
(SELECT count(id)
FROM eventlog_events
WHERE event_id = 12
AND DATE_SUB(
CURDATE(),INTERVAL 3 WEEK
) <= datetime)

However, my SQL spider sense tells me this is overly verbose and incorrect. It gets even more perverse when I use this method to capture the counts for each of the 12 weeks, where I execute 13 of these subtraction operations in one gigantic statement, 1 for each period.

Is there a better way? Is my objective clear?