PHP 4 to 5 Code changes

zimmo

Hi People. Hope someone can help with this. I am new to php5 and finding all sorts of things that differ to php4.

I have links that have variables to query a mysql table.

The old method I used to use to retrieve the data from mysql with php4 was this:

$sql = "SELECT * FROM products WHERE '$_REQUEST[category]' = 'Y' ORDER BY price ASC"; 

But I am getting no results returned.

The urls also contained the following:

products.php?category=cat_1

But I am hearing that this is no longer the case? Can anyone help me?

That is not a PHP4 vs. PHP5 issue. Your query is using strait-quotes for what appears to be a field name. You need to use backquotes for field names. Plus, you have the array index (category) as a constant instead of a string. You should use single quotes for the array index and enclose the array variable inside curly brackets

Try this:

$sql = "SELECT * FROM products WHERE `{$_REQUEST['category']}` = 'Y' ORDER BY price ASC";

Hi there zimmo,

Apart from missing the column name I would recommend NOT using $_REQUEST as this has proven security vulnerabilities, and as you are using directly in mysql, I would also advocate using some sort of sanitising functions, purely to make sure that what ever data is sent to this script can have any malicious content removed.

Just thought I would raise this point.

$sql = "SELECT * FROM `products` WHERE `".strip_tags(mysql_real_escape_string($_POST[category]))."` = 'Y' ORDER BY `price` ASC"; 

And you don't single quote column names, this will give an error from mysql end of things, you should back tick - and only use that to make the column names 'safer' because you can then have spaces & reserved words, though I do NOT advocate this, it's just handy to know as back ticks a very useful when retro-fitting code.

Hope that makes sense.

Cheers,

Rw