I want to re-design the way my games website fetches game info

hedgehog90

Hi,

I own a website called www.gpstudios.com,  a flash games site.

I didn't design it myself, but since having it built a year ago, I understand pretty much all of the inne workings. I'm a game coder so php makes good sense to me.

Anyway, i woudl like to change the way a game info (instructions, description) is fetched.

Currently, we have 650 games in our database. The way all the info is gotten is through mySQL.

So, what I would like to do is take these lengthy instructions/description strings and put them each into a text file, within the folder destination of the game.

Currently though, we don't even have a folder destination for each game, which is also a problem. Some games have extra files, which our site-developers didn't account for. There are several games that we've had to manually put into folders because of this problem (two .xml files cannot be named the same in the same folder)

Also, if you go onto my website and click on a game, you get sent to playgame.php?id=xxx

The main thing I would like to change though (which I have attempted before, but not succeeded with) would be to change the url adress of the games to something more like: www.gpstudios.com/games/game_name/

This is how most game websites do it.

When I tried to do this myself, what I did was to simply create an index.php within the folder of one of the aforementioned games, and within this folder I wrote something as simple as:

include("../../../playgame.php?id=xxx");

But upon loading this page, I would receive a load of error messages regarding all the other includes and requires in the playgame.php.

So by inserting playgame.php?id=xxx in this deep folder, it destroys all other directory links elsewhere.