Total Newb needing some general design guidance

sailors1112

Hello everyone!

I would first like to openly state that I am a total NEWB when it comes to using PHP and MySQL. In fact, I have just started learning how to use PHP/MySQL in order to design a website for teaching ESL (teaching english as a foreign language).

Anyway, my problem is this: I have a vision for what the finished website should look like, but I am unsure of what TOOLS (ie: kind of code) would be best to further investigate to use in the creation of my website. I've started reading several different kind of books, but I'm still not sure what kind of PHP or combination of PHP/MySQL, etc, that I actually need to learn.

Essentially, the website is going to be a collection of lesson plans. I want the lesson plans to be searchable, so that if you typed "holidays" into the search box, all the lessons associated with "holidays" would appear. I am thinking of something very close to what Amazon.com uses - you search, then you get several previews which can be organized by rating, and when you click on one it takes you to the full details of the lesson plan.

Does anyone have any suggestions for what framework I need to be using? Or does anybody know any premade script that's out there that I can modify?

I haven't been involved in webbuilding since HTML, so I'm terribly behind the curve @_@

Please point me in the right direction so that I don't waste hours of time figuring out things that I won't be able to use!

Thank you very much in advance!

(This is what I've put together so far... I really don't know where to go from here. Normally, I would build a static HTML page for each lesson, but I want something more user-controlled, plus, I have hundreds of lesson plans.

http://eigobento.com/layoutrecovery.html)