When saving via FTP, server briefly triggers "save as" for PHP file, shows code

I'm new to PHP and I'm worried about any security issues there might be.  When I noticed this I was very reluctant to use plain text passwords (such as the one needed to access the MySQL database).  I'm not sure what is causing this to happen so forgive me if I don't provide enough details ::)

Versions:

Ubuntu Server 10.04.1 LTS; Apache2; PHP Version 5.3.2-1ubuntu4.5

I use a program on my laptop to create a virtual drive for the files that are stored on my server.  It uses FTP to connect to the server and load/save files.  This is what happens when I edit my PHP files:

• Make changes to PHP file
  • Save file (saves directly to server)
  • Reload PHP file in web browser on local machine
  • Browser shows "save as" dialog (only happens for a couple seconds, see below)

If I save the page and open it, I can read all the code in the file including whats between the <?php and ?> tags.  I have done this from two seperate computers.  One was connected to the local network, the other was on a different internet connection.  I got the same result when refreshing the page from both computers and was able to save and view the source.  However, it only happens when I reload the page immediately after saving.  If I wait a few seconds and then reload the page it loads like a normal PHP file.  I like PHP much better than CGI and do not want to go back to using perl just because of this.

I've been picking at the issue for a bit and came up with some new information that might help resolve this issue.