Photo

code problem..please help. i'm a newbie! :)

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 thebeing

thebeing
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 September 2006 - 12:52 PM

Hello! i'm having some problem with some php code...

the problem :
i get this error...

Notice: Undefined variable: showCategories in c:\program files\easyphp1-8\www\joke_site\templates\MainHeader.php on line 86

for this code...

<?=$showCategories?>

can anyone help me, please? can anyone tell me, what must i write in the code to make it work?

thnx in advance!

#2 steveclondon

steveclondon
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 161 posts

Posted 29 September 2006 - 12:58 PM

$showCategories has no value. You must first set a value for this as follows.

$showCategories='it will now be this message';

echo $showCategories;

If this is part of a bigger script you have you might want to put it up here as i would imagine there is another problem there higher up

#3 thebeing

thebeing
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 September 2006 - 01:08 PM

hello, and thnx for your reply...

i thought of inserting a bigger part of the code into my post...but most of it would have been irrelevand...

however...if ur willing to help me (please, be!), here's a bigger part of the code...

http://tinyurl.com/ewcrq

note : the memberblock thinggie works... but the categories and the buttonbanner don't...

this is a part from a script i bought from someone over the net...and now he(or she...) doesn't answe when i try to contact him/her... :(

#4 steveclondon

steveclondon
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 161 posts

Posted 29 September 2006 - 01:11 PM

thats just a main header that shows the information from the php script. You should have code that goes above that. If you have a file named index.php have a look at that and see all the files listed in that

you might have for example. include 'top.php';

#5 thebeing

thebeing
  • New Members
  • Pip