Tables vs columns

SurSokK

Hi.

I'm quite new to php/sql, but I'm quite ambitious:)

The thing I need to figure out first is how i should organize my database and tables.

My project is this:

We have started a sort of leage at my local laser tag arena. The battles are 1on1 and each battle consist of two rounds.

I want to create a webpage where I can enter the data from these matches and people can view the information in any way the want (when it comes to the search criterias)

So far, so good. For this I only need som simple INSERT, CREATE, UPDATE, SELECT and others commands like that I believe.

The main thing I'm wondering is how many tables i should create.

Data from the matches will be:

The date of the match

Player 1 (name from list), life left round 1 (number), laserpack number round 2 (from list), life left round 2, laserpack number round 2, totalt life left, victory (yes/no)

Player 2 (same as player 1)

I recon I need one table for the players, but for the matches there's quite a few alternatives.

1. Each match use one row consisting of  15 columns (to contain all the date from the match as described)

2. Each match creates a new table. In that table there will be to rows, one for each round of the match

There's probably more ways to organize this, and thats where you, people with coding experience from a higher level of consciousness than me, come in :)

When people look at the webpage I want the matches to be listed with the result only (total lives left and who the winner was), but they shoud be able to click into each match to view details of each round in that match.

I don't know if i described my question good enough, so feel free to ask for details :)

If any of you know about some tutorials that would help me creating this project i would really love a link. I rather like to read things and tweak the code to my likings than just get handed the exact code i need (thats the only way to learn)

Work with more tables, rather than more records.