Help with PHP variables content management problem

aojbirks

Hi - I'm just starting out with PHP, and indeed most web design, so forgive any rudimentary and laughable mistakes I make/have made!

I got this idea from AListApart (http://www.alistapart.com/articles/phpcms/ and loved the simplicity of the idea of selecting the content with a menu click.

So, I dropped it into the menu system (menu.php, include into template):

<a href="selous.php?page=exhibsys">

Where $page would tell the template page (selous.php) what content to have in its main area:

<!-- MAIN CONTENT STARTS HERE -->

<td id="main">

<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="15" cellpadding="0">

<tr>

<td><div id="mainitem">

<?php include("$page.php"); ?>

</td>

</tr>

</table>

</td>

<!-- END OF MAIN CONTENT -->

Back on my home pc (win7, PHP5, Apache 2) it works like a dream. At work (Mac OSX10.4, PHP5, Apache 2 under MAMP) it refuses to do the include:

[02-Feb-2011 09:29:34] PHP Warning:  include(page.php) [<a href='function.include'>function.include</a>]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /Applications/MAMP/htdocs/SelousPub2011/selous.php on line 51

[02-Feb-2011 09:29:34] PHP Warning:  include() [<a href='function.include'>function.include</a>]: Failed opening 'page.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/Applications/MAMP/htdocs/SelousPub2011/') in /Applications/MAMP/htdocs/SelousPub2011/selous.php on line 51

So is my code at fault, or the way this MAC is set up under MAMP?

Any help will be hugely appreciated, as I'm hair-tearing and running out of knowledge (didn't take long!)

Firstly, it is very insecure to blindly include a file like that. You really should validate that it is indeed a file that exists, and also one that you want to include.

Secondly, is this the exact code you are using? The error suggests that it is trying to include a file called page.php. Are you sure you have double quotes around $page.php