Tutorials

I am a novice at this game and I have sweated blood and tears to get what I have up and running. It is still lacking but it is a start.

What I needed when I started was:

1. a good editor

2. the best html, css, mySQL, cPanel, php, phpMyAdmin, Firebug and layout/design tutorials. I had never heard of any of them except css when I started.

3. a browser recommendation.

I google everything and I found 1 and 3 ( I was usintg IE7 ) because there are sites that rank and comment on them. But I don't know of a site(s) that ranks or comments on item 2.

Googling item 2 for html and css I was using w3schools because I liked it's presentation. A couple of months into my project and I find this on pfreaks:

http://w3fools.com/

And I have also found on phpf some really good links to items listed in #2. None of them show up in a google search. But the references did not come at the request for a good tutorial. For some reason, some of the guys/girls just don't like to answer that question.

The old pros on here: gizmola, pikachu, cssfreakie, maq ( and others, I just have not interacted with them ) are warehouses of good information. I know that they all have bookmarks on all of this.

This list is useless to me and I think to most novices:

http://www.phpfreaks.com/tutorials

as is the old list cv indexed: www dot crayonviolent dot com slash old_phpf_tuts

What I would like to see is the old pros get together, produce a list, vote on it, of not more than 3 links each to subjects listed in #2 for novices.

I'll probably get some flak on this one.

Well if you want i can write a short and easy to use firebug toturial. But that would be more of a guide, it's a pretty intuitive tool. ones you right click inspect element. When something is new for me i just press all the buttons and see what it does for me.