Menu bar help, links in centre and out side edges?

stevengreen22

Ello!!!

I'm starting to remake a site that was a project.  THe original turned out to be poor and I'm now working with css to try and improve it.

I'm very new to it.

PLease = just look at the top menu.  everything else can be disregarded.

www.webdesignprofessionals.co.uk

I have a menu that spans the top of the page, 100% - I wanted links on both side, left for home etc and right for the login script.

I've used two divs both at 50% that I'm pretty sure is wrong practice and am loking into that.

The other thing I'd liek to do is have a link or two in the middle of the bar.  How do I do this?  I don't want to repeat what I did and have 3 divs at 33ish as it will get even messier.  Can anyone poijt me in the right direction?

Thanks

I already gave answer to the 50% divs, you don't need those surrounding divs, <ul>'s can be floated as well. also, if you don't need them to be 50% don't set the width to that amount.

Also setting the width of course only affects the dimension  of the element, putting stuff to the left or right has nothing to do with it, float:left/right can be used for that.

as far as the links in the middle, since you took up the space with those 2 50% elements the only way to get something infront or behind it is with position: absolute In case you would set those div's not to 50% but less, you can even do with setting text-align center to the container div and place the links just in between.