My SQL help

turnej

I am trying to create a page where my members can upload information to a mysql table using an on page form - I would want my form to have two inputs one for first name and one for last name and then a submit button which when pressed will send the info to mysql database.

I also have two other fields in my mysql database (date uploaded and person who uploaded) With these I need to find a way that will instruct the database to date/time stamp the info and as for the person uploading I am going to password protect the page for individual users so I will know who is on the page and need to somehow send this to the database. I have made a start on some of the functions and pasted the form I am using and my php file below (these are snippets from the web which I am struggling to make work) as you may have guessed I am a beginner with php and mysql so any help needs to be dumbed down so I can understand it ha.

<form action="contact_insert.php" method="POST" id="insert">

<table>

<tr>

<td >First Name</td>

<td ><input type="text" size=40 name="fname"></td>

</tr>

<tr>

<td >Last Name</td>

<td ><input type="text" size=40 name="lname"></td>

</tr>

<tr>

<td colspan=2 id="sub"><input type="submit" name="submit" value="Add to Guestlist" ></td>

</tr>

</Table>

</form>

and the contact_insert.php file is:

<?php

// contact to database

$connect = mysql_connect("localhost", "user", "pass") or die ("Error , check your server connection.");

mysql_select_db("database");

//Get data in local variable

$v_fname=$_POST['fname'];

$v_lname=$_POST['lname'];

// check for null values

if ($v_fname=="" or $v_lname=="")

echo "All fields must be entered, hit back button and re-enter information";

else{

$query=insert into "database","table"("fname","lname") values("$v_fname","$v_lname",);

mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error());

echo "Your guest has been added";

}

?>

Thanks in advance for any help

Hi

Not sure what you are asking.