Creating queries with a MySQL front-end

prophecym

Hello everyone,

First of all, I am still learning php/mysql all by myself with documentations all over the internet. So i may not know what i am talking about. All i know i need some help. Here is my problem:

I have a database already in mysql with all the relations created. I have some doubts about my boolean and datetime fields whether i did them right or wrong. But that is another matter. I need my users to be able to create the reports they would need with a user friendly front-end, but i don't know how to run or create the queries they need. So the database is kind of hanging in the air without any good use for my users. On top of that, I need an user administration tool to create users and restrict their rights, for example they would only add and edit data but wouldn't delete anything etc...

I am using localhost server on phpmyadmin with Windows 7 64-bit operating system.

edit: I did a search throughout the forum, but i couldn't find anything related to my issue.

Running "reports" should be the job of a custom PHP script -- assuming you're not letting users write raw SQL queries (which you shouldn't be).

"user administration" pertains to your application, and likely doesn't overlap with mysql users.

I want my users to use simple forms to add/edit the data. Then, I would need the queries to show the data between the related tables. Users should be able to lookup those values using the forms. And i am not sure how to do this with custom script.

Well, since you're the one defining these relationships, you're the only one who knows how to look them up.  Same goes for add / edit operations.

I understand, but the problem is i don't know how to do it. Like i said, i am pretty amateur on php/mysql. I am not asking anyone to tell me step-by-step instructions, but if anything i can look at as far as documents or manuals online, or even ready to go scripts, that would help.