New to php-function from multiple mysql queries

smkncr6

Hey all I'm new to mysql php, I have a query consisting of multiple queries it doesn't have to be a function but here it is in a nutshell.

I have one table I populate, I use this table to fill in all my form drop downs etc... the problem I am having is I need to return only rows that are NOT NULL. Have not been able to figure it out, so instead I was forced to create multiple queries which in my opinion is redundant. I have included the mysql queries, I don't mind using a function but if you have better suggestions, any help would be greatly appreciated.

$query_options1 = "SELECT * FROM tblFormFields where fld_Sex is NOT NULL";

$options1 = mysql_query($query_options1) or die(mysql_error());

$row_options1 = mysql_fetch_assoc($options1);

$query_options2 = "SELECT * FROM tblFormFields where fld_Month is NOT NULL";

$options2 = mysql_query($query_options2) or die(mysql_error());

$row_options2 = mysql_fetch_assoc($options2);

$query_options3 = "SELECT * FROM tblFormFields where fld_Day is NOT NULL";

$options3 = mysql_query($query_options3) or die(mysql_error());

$row_options3 = mysql_fetch_assoc($options3);

$query_options4 = "SELECT * FROM tblFormFields where fld_Year is NOT NULL order by fld_Year desc";

$options4 = mysql_query($query_options4) or die(mysql_error());

$row_options4 = mysql_fetch_assoc($options4);

Thank you in advance for your help.

You should not even have a table that is laid out like a spreadsheet where you have different columns for each field type with null values in the unused choices. What happens when you need to add more form field types to the design? You need to alter your table and you need to alter all your queries that reference that table because there are now more column names to reference.

You should have one row for each possible form field, with a type column (sex, month, day, year) and a value column. The query would just be -