need help to optimize delete query

sheraz

Hi, i am new to mysql. i am working on a project in which i have to delete users's record from 17 tables. the problem is that when i delete a record, it takes too much time. I am only providing a sample query.The query i write looks like this

DELETE a, u, pa, pr

from admin a

LEFT JOIN users u ON u.user_id=a.admin_id

LEFT JOIN poll_answers pa ON pa.user_id=a.admin_id

LEFT JOIN product_reviews pr ON pr.user_id = a.admin_id

WHERE a.admin_id=345

i have used this technique to delete from tables.i.e used 17 LEFT JOINS to delete records.

It is working fine but consuming too much time. can somebody help me that how i can optimize query when deleting data from 17 tables.

Trigger cascading is fraught will difficulties

Very true!  I never really had problems with it "back in the day" but I always did it on very simple systems like a common attribute-value system or whatever.  17 tables all inter-linking with cascading deletes might be a big problem.

Indexing your tables properly is probably the best bet.  Try to SELECT all this data.  Does it come back in a reasonable amount of time?  What about an UPDATE?  Maybe it would be best to add a "deleted" column to these tables so you can "soft delete" the records instead of locking the tables to perform an actual delete.

-Dan

Also, triggers won't trigger other triggers, so it's only a cascade in the most basic sense.

Wait...I didn't mean trigger cascade I meant the actual ON DELETE CASCADE command which you place on a foreign key for referential integrity.  It's still fraught with danger but it's not at all a trigger.

If I have a table called ITEMS and another called ATTRIBUTES I can make attributes.item_id be a foreign key to items.id ON DELETE CASCADE.  If the item is deleted, the attributes are deleted automatically.

-Dan

Emphasis added.