Database Design Question

jennifer_J

I'm working on an ecommerce site. We currently have static html pages containing listings of our categories, subcategories, and product links. We do use ecommerce software, but I would like to keep the category pages written in html because there are numerous problems with the ecomm software we use. For one thing, It's very difficult to create sub categories on the back end without messing up the existing structure. So I'd like to develop my own back end system for managing these static html pages.

I'm pretty new at working with mysql so I don't know if it's approprite to design a database with tables reflecting the structure of our static html pages to manage our content this way. The pages take this format.

Category

subcatergory

product listing and description

subcategory

there are 30 categories each containing one to four pages, with 5-10 subcategories on each page, and over 1,000 products. It's not necessary for these items to have pictures on these pages.

If you have suggestions for designing the database table structure, and if this would be good practice to store this data in a mysql table.... Please Advise.

Base idea, and then other stuff in ()

Category:

catID

catName

(description / slug / short name)

Subcategory

subID

catID

subName

(description / slug / short name)

Products

proID

catID

subID

proName

proSubName

proDescription

(picture / slug / price / link to whatever )

If I perused your site, I could probably come up with more... I will probably suggest WordPress + ecommerce plugin.  WordPress does a lot with the right plug-ins.  check it out at wordpress.org.