MySQL INSERT INTO Issue

rj.alaskan

I am a fairly decent PHP coder, and I have a sufficient knowledge of MySQL to be considered competent. However, I have run across an issue I have never seen before, and after hours of troubleshooting, I still cannot figure out what is the issue. I am writing a script to monitor server status and log uptime. I have everything working except the logging part. Here is my code and query:

mysql_connect ('localhost', 'root', 'm@t$u33');
mysql_select_db ('servers');

//update log with statistics
$logquery = 'INSERT INTO server_log (uid, datetime, icmp_lat, tcp_lat, net_stat, tcp_stat) VALUES ("'.$UID.'", NOW(), "'.$icmp_lat.'", "'.$tcp_lat.'", "'.$net_stat.'", "'.$tcp_stat.'")';
mysql_query ($logquery);
echo $logquery;
echo mysql_error();

The echo echoes the query like this:

INSERT INTO server_log (uid, datetime, icmp_lat, tcp_lat, net_stat, tcp_stat) VALUES ("1", NOW(), "6.5088272094727E-5", "0.0003809928894043", "UP", "UP")

And the echo for the mysql_error() does not echo anything. All is well, right? I check phpMyAdmin to see if the log is really getting updated, and there are zero rows inserted. Weird, I thought. So I copy the echoed query and paste it into a mysql client prompt:

mysql> use servers;
Database changed
mysql> INSERT INTO server_log (uid, datetime, icmp_lat, tcp_lat, net_stat, tcp_s
tat) VALUES ("2", NOW(), "0.00050783157348633", "0.00083398818969727", "UP", "UP
");
Query OK, 1 row affected (0.00 sec)

mysql>

The query worked just fine, verified by phpMyAdmin. I have tried changing the database engine, I am currently using MyISAM. I am completely clueless as to why it is not working.

Table structure:

mysql> show create table server_log\g
+------------+------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------+