Help with multiple arrays going into a database

grozanc

I'm trying to dump three pieces of information into a database from a form, two of the pieces are coming from an array. I can get one piece of information from an array in, but I can't get the second. My latest attempt is to create the entry with the first array and then update that entry with the second array but that isn't working either. I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff so if this is explained somewhere please point me in the right direction. I've listed what I have below.

The first foreach array works and the values are dumped into the database. I can't get the second foreach array to update the previous filed. I'm sure there is a better way to do this, but I don't have a clue. Any help would be appreciated, and yes, I did search google, but I guess I'm not using the right key words!

Thanks,

Gary

<SELECT NAME="oasis_id[]">
<OPTION VALUE=""> </OPTION>
<OPTION VALUE=\"".$oasis_id.".Present\"> Present </OPTION>
<OPTION VALUE=\"".$oasis_id.".Absent\"> Absent </OPTION>
</SELECT>
<INPUT TYPE="TEXT" NAME="particpation_points[]" >
<INPUT TYPE="SUBMIT" VALUE="Submit" >

$class = $_POST['class'];
$attendance_date = $_POST['attendance_date'];

foreach($_POST['oasis_id'] as $oasis_id) {	
$query = "INSERT INTO $class (attendance_date, attendance) values ('$attendance_date','$oasis_id')";
mysql_query($query) or die('Error, query failed : ' . mysql_error());
}

foreach ($_POST['particpation_points'] as $particpation_points) {
$query2 = "UPDATE $class SET particpation_points='$particpation_points' WHERE oasis_id='$oasis_id' && attendance_date='$attendance_date'";
mysql_query($query2) or die('Error, query failed : ' . mysql_error());
}

Typically, I do this by "forcing" the array index value. The code you have

<INPUT TYPE="TEXT" NAME="particpation_points[]" >