PHP if variable

gavin.sibley

Hello,

i am new to php so sorry if this is a dumb and basic question! i need to write a script so that if the clients ip address is "allowed" it will open a media player, and if there ip address is not on the list it will display an error.

i have the code for the various different bits, just not sure how to put it all together!

if $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']; is &Allowedip

&Allowedip = "127.0.0.1"

<object id="MediaPlayer" height=46 classid="CLSID:22D6f312-B0F6-11D0-94AB-0080C74C7E95" standby="Loading Windows Media Player components..." type="application/x-oleobject" codebase="http://activex.microsoft.com/activex/controls/mplayer/en/nsmp2inf.cab#Version=6,4,7,1112"> 

<!-- The one required parameter is the location of your audio file, which is defined using the "filename" parameter: --> 

<param name="filename" value="">

<param name="Showcontrols" value="True">
<param name="autoStart" value="True">

<embed type="application/x-mplayer2" src="" name="MediaPlayer" width=320 height=240></embed>

<object id="MediaPlayer" height=46 classid="CLSID:22D6f312-B0F6-11D0-94AB-0080C74C7E95" standby="Loading Windows Media Player components..." type="application/x-oleobject" codebase="http://activex.microsoft.com/activex/controls/mplayer/en/nsmp2inf.cab#Version=6,4,7,1112"> 

<embed type="application/x-mplayer2" src="" name="MediaPlayer"></embed>

</object>

else

echo "Access denied from outsite of School"

?/>

I think you need to look at some of the basic PHP syntax with some beginner examples.

PHP open and close tags:

<?php
  //PHP code here
?>

Variables are defined with a $ not a &:

<?php
  $variable = "Something";
?>

If syntax

<?php
  if(statement){
    //do something here
  }
} 
?>

Also, you need to tell PHP that you have finished a statement with a semi colon.