$_COOKIE NOT INITIALLY AVAILABLE

milesk

While I have developed for a number of years I am new to web applications and PHP. I am currently have an issue with cookies. The cookies appear to have been created and I checked for their presence in index.php. Initially they are not set but after a couple of iterations they become available. For example a remember me cookie is not available on the login screen on first entry but if I choose the login shortcut the cookie is now available with a value. While the docs say that they should be globally available I did try the make them global with no success. Something is making them available and I can track what it is.

As I said I'm new to this and maybe I'm not using or explaining well.  On a previous login where the user has asked to be remembered I have saved a cookie for their name and password.  They have logged out.  They receive an email with a link to a conversation but they need a login.  If they have asked to be remembered I check for the cookies and log them in.  However, I have found that the cookies are not available initially and even at the login screen where I default the remember flag to a cookie, it is not available.  If I do choose login from the page it would redirect to login and the cookie is now available.

Do you have to have at least 1 redirect for cookies to be available?

Um not sure if this is your issue or not, but the problem with cookies is this:

If you call setcookie() and then (on the same page) try and look at that cookie using the $_COOKIES array it wont yet be set. The reason for this is that cookies aren't actually set when setcookie() is called, but when the script has finished execution and all the headers are sent (setting a cookie just sends a specific header).

It's pretty hard to tell from your description if this issue describes your problem or not. You might need to post some relevant code.