[resolved] using a URL (string) as a primary key

countrybumpkin

Hey all

I'm new to this php and MySQL stuff. My script needs to be able to find out what the HTTP_HOST is (easy) and then look that up in a table to find a corresponding Client ID (because clients will have multiple URLS to get to their sites).

I'm using

[code]('SELECT clientID FROM domains WHERE domain = '.$SERVER_["HTTP_HOST"]);[/code]

but, of course, the WHERE part has to be a unique identifier. For some reason I can't work out how to make fields that contain URLs into a primary key.

Any ideas? I'm sure this has been done before :S

Sorry! Concise language was never my strong point.

I'm building a CMS which will run many (small) sites from one database. The system needs to check what URL the user has landed at in order to display the correct information on the page.

Say, the user pulls up www.aclient.com/viewArticle.php?ID=3, my script should then put the www.aclient.com part into a query on the database in order to establish what the CLIENT ID is, and then go ahead and display the right information for that client.

So, I have a table in the database called "domains", which lists each DOMAIN against a CLIENTID, because each client could have a few domains that they want to point to the system.

Do you follow? :-S hope that made sense........ I'm rapidly losing the ability to think right!

Hope you can help

[quote]
Say, the user pulls up www.aclient.com/viewArticle.php?ID=3, my script should then put the www.aclient.com part into a query on the database in order to establish what the CLIENT ID is, and then go ahead and display the right information for that client.
[/quote]
What i'm getting is that you want the page to display differently based on what ID is and to do that you use $_GET[id] and if ithe URL is www.mysite.com/view.php?id=3 then $_GET[id] would be equal three.

I'm sorry if this answers your question, but i'm not sure exactly what you're asking.