Directory links page very slow loading when calculating

sammy444

Hi,

I’m not a programmer, but am trying to get an issue solved on my current site development. Currently my programmer has tried a couple solutions and both have issues.

This is a classified directory site with approximately 30,000 cities in the database. I’m trying to ONLY show cities that actually have records available in the records database, or that meet the radius settings. These settings are in the admin area where I can set them to 1 to 100 miles. This radius setting allows records to be pulled into cities that don’t actually have a record for that city, but are within the radius set in admin..

While this works fine to correctly display city pages, the issue of the state/links pages is that the pages slow down a lot.

So far my programmer has tried 2 ways to achieve this.

1. On state links pages where all cities for that state are printed to the page we find that this is awfully slow. For a state like California that has about 1200 cities in our database the script is going 1 by 1 checking each city to see which ones either have records, or meet the radius criteria set. This basically takes forever to load (5 minutes) the links although it does work its just way to slow for any user, or SE’s to follow these links.