'How' can I show info in one div from a menu called in another (with example)

mlsherrod

HI! I'm new to PHP (like a lot of us) but here's my question and example:

Question, I want my index.php page to have a menu from one div, that changes content in another div.

To start, my basic index.php page calls up & renders my drop down menu from another file, via :<?php include('menu.php');?>

Here's a basic menu in one div:

<div id="container1">
    <ul id="menu" class="topmenu">
      	<li class="topfirst"><a href="home.html">Home</a></li>
<li class="topmenu"><span>About us</span>
<ul>
	<li><a href="?page=about.html">About</a></li>
	<li><a href="?page=history.html">History of AHTS</a></li>
	<li><a href="?page=faq.html">FAQ's</a></li>
	<li><a href="?page=brochure.pdf">Brochure (PDF)</a></li>
</ul></li>
</div>

On my same index.php page below my menu, I have another div to call up the menu selection:

<div id="container2">
<?php
     if (isset($_GET['page']))
        { include($_GET['page']);}
    else{ echo "select a page";}?>
</div>

So my basic question is, I'm getting my pages to propagate in container2 div below from menu clicks, but when I first go to my site (index.php), I see my menu, but now home page. I can't get my home.html file to show automatically like one can do with iFrames (like below).  Any suggestions?

<iframe name="iframe1" src="i_index.html"></iframe>

Many thanks!

You need to set a default value, which contains the name of your home page. Then, if the user haven't selected a specific page, you show the default.

Something like this, in other words:

<?php

// Set default page.
$page = "home";

// If the user requested a different page, validate and set it.
if (isset ($_GET['page'])) {
    // Using Regular Expressions to only allow letters a-z (lowercase), to prevent attackers from doing anything bad.
    $page = preg_replace ("/[^a-z]/", '', $_GET['page']);
}

// If the page exists in the include folder, and is readable, read its contents.