Create a Mysql many-to-many database using phpmyadmin and URL parameters

harshamutu

Hi! Everyone,

I am quite new to PHP and Mysql, but capable of creating a simple database, upload it and make a PHP query to get a result displayed on a webpage using Phpmyadmin. Because of the challenge that I am going to detail below I read a lot on M-to-M databases and creating mapping tables etc. But I am still not sure where to start my assignment yet. My problem has two parts:

1) How to create a MySQL database using Phpmyadmin, for a Many-to-Many relationship. There are many suppliers and a limited number of products. One supplier may have more than one product to offer and one product can be available with several suppliers? (I guest Supplier, Products and the Mapping should have different tables in this database.)

2) How can I get all the suppliers of one particular product displayed on the webpage dedicated to that particular product? If a URL parameter could be used for this how can I define a URL parameter for this purpose?

I shall appreciate very much if some one can advise me on these tasks and/or let me have URLs of tutorials that address these specific issues.

Thanking you in advance

Harsha Mutucumarana

Here's a simple example for you

+-----------+          +-----------------+          +------------+

| product  |          | productsupplier |          | supplier  |

|*prod_id  |---------<| *prod_id        |    +-----| *supp_id  |

| prod_name |          | *supp_id        |>----+    |  supp_name |

To list the suppliers of product 123 your URL would be something like this

http://my.domain.com/supplierlist.php?product=123

supplierlist.php

<?php
include('dbconnect.php');   // connect to database

if (!isset($_GET['product']) || empty($_GET['product'])) {
    exit('No product id provided');
}
else {
    $product = intval($_GET['product']);    // get the product code from the URL's query string

$sql = "SELECT s.supp_name
            FROM supplier s