Confused With Classes

next

I dropped PHP right as I started learning OOP, so my knowledge in it is very limited. However I'm trying to understand opencart, but it's a little confusing to me. Currently I'm looking at USPS functionality and can't figure out where all these methods and properties come from. Here's a snippet of USPS class:

class ModelShippingUsps extends Model {
public function getQuote($address) {
 $this->load->language('shipping/usps');

$query = $this->db->query("SELECT * FROM " . DB_PREFIX . "zone_to_geo_zone WHERE geo_zone_id = '" . (int)$this->config->get('usps_geo_zone_id') . "' AND country_id = '" . (int)$address['country_id'] . "' AND (zone_id = '" . (int)$address['zone_id'] . "' OR zone_id = '0')");

if (!$this->config->get('usps_geo_zone_id')) {
  $status = true;
 } elseif ($query->num_rows) {
  $status = true;
 } else {
  $status = false;
 }

So, in the above, $this is basically ModelShippingUsps, if I remember correctly... ModelShippingUsps is an extension of Model and it inherits Model's methods and properties.

This is what Model looks like:

abstract class Model {
protected $registry;

public function __construct($registry) {
 $this->registry = $registry;
}

public function __get($key) {
 return $this->registry->get($key);
}

public function __set($key, $value) {
 $this->registry->set($key, $value);
}
}

Where do config->get() and db->query come from? How does ModelShippingUsps has access to them?

There's so much code and so little documentation on this cart, it's not even funny :(

the __get and __set methods defined in the Model class are known as magic methods.  Basically PHP will automagically call them under certain situations.  For __get and __set, they get called whenever you attempt to read the value of, or set the value of, a property that does not exist.