Help with if / else with a MySQL bit field?

dazedconfused
Go to solution Solved by Psycho,

Trying to do an if / else with a bit field.  My background is Classic ASP so please bear with me as I'm new to PHP and am trying to convert!

Here's what I've been trying:

<?php

$dimmer=$row_rsPRODFULL['LEDdimmable']

if ($dimmer=b'1')

{

echo "Yes";

}

else

{

echo "no";

}

?>

I've also tried:

if ($dimmer="true")

if ($dimmer="1")

...nothing works!  :(

Hope someone can help.

PS.  Why can't I paste into this text box, even using the Copy/Paste tools above?  Using IE11.

Thank you

NJ

Should they both be changed to the comparison operator?

Only the one that is testing for equality should be "=="

To test if a particular bit is set you need to use a logical "and" (&).

EG

Suppose your variable contains 00000101

// 00000101
//      ^ to check if this bit is set use logical "and" with 4 (binary value of the bit)

if ($myvar & 4) {
    // bit is set so do something
}

PS My name is Barand, not sen. Funnily enough, my name in my posts appears in exactly the same place as your name does in your posts. Strange but true.

Sorry for the confusion with the name.  I mentioned that I was new to PHP but I should also have mentioned that I'm completely new here.  My apologies for any offence caused.

My variable contains either a 1 or 0 value.  It is a BIT field.  In Access or MSSQL this would be a checkbox Yes/No or True/False value.

I'm simply looking to display one item of text if the bit field from the MySQL table is true and another if it is false.  Considering how easy this is in Classic ASP:

<%IF <databasefield> = "1" Then%>This is true<%ELSE%>This is False<%End IF%>

...I'm struggling to comprehend why this is so difficult in PHP.

I have tried your suggestion...

<?php

if ($row_rsPRODFULL['LEDdimmable'] & 1)

{

echo "Yes";

}

else

{

echo "No";

}

?>

...but it only displays the word "No" even though a field is true.

Hoping someone can help me sort this out.