PSD Files and a web gallery

TheJunior

Hello everyone.

I am very new here and I have a problem. I have recently started as a junior IT assistant at a company and I have been asked to make an image gallery by one of the managers of the other departments. I managed to find near enough complete package for free on the internet but it does not support Adobe made files such as PSD (which is photoshop if I am correct). Can someone either point me or give me tips of how or even it is possible I can possibly add this feature to the gallery.

I will put a disclaimer and say that apart from a brief encounter in uni I am very new to php as a whole.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Are you wanting to display the actual adobe psd image on a webpage like you can with other image files such as .gif, .png, .jpg files?  You cant as psd's are not actual images supported by web browsers, as it is a proprietary image format owned by Adobe.  However there are converts which can compile the psd into a image that can be used within a webpage.

One such converter I found from a simple google search was

http://www.catswhocode.com/blog/php-display-adobe-psd-files-on-a-web-page

Maybe try and incorporate that class into your existing PHP script.

Edited by Ch0cu3r

It is for a web gallery within the company only. Currently it can detect and upload pictures which are put in a specific folder, but it does not recognise psd files at all. Bottom line is yes I would like them to be able to display like jpegs etc but I would also like them to be able to upload as well if that can be done.

I would also like them to be able to upload as well if that can be done