how to run a php script?

zwkle

Hi,

I have a very simple requirement. I want to be able to use the php script below which was posted on another forum and which should tell me the number of google results for each member of a set of words in a text file.

I'm completely new to php. What's the quickest way of running the script? After a couple of hours of research I tried pasting the code into notepad, saving it as a .php file, and uploading it to a free geocities hosting account. I couldn't view it in IE though--I just got a blank page. Am I on the right track? I just want to be able to use it in the simplest way possible.

Andy

<?php

$file = file('path/to/your/list/of/words/to/search/for.txt');

$results = '';
foreach ($file as $line) {
    $data    = file_get_contents("http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=" . urlencode($line) . "&btnG=Google+Search");
    preg_match('/of about <b>([0-9,]*)?<\/b>/si', $data, $number);
    $results .= $line . " " . $number[1] . "\n";
}
echo $results;

?>

Well, first of all, it's blank right now because there's nothing it's searching for.

you need to change
path/to/your/list/of/words/to/search/for.txt
from the line:
$file = file('path/to/your/list/of/words/to/search/for.txt');
to the physical path to your .txt file that has your words you need to search for.

hi alchemy -- thanks. That was an incredibly quick reply.

I should have said that the file I uploaded to geocities was this one:

<html>
<head>
  <title>PHP Test</title>
</head>
<body>
<?php echo '<p>Hello World</p>'; ?>
</body>
</html>

which is from the php manual. I saved this as a .php file before uploading it, but I'm not able to view it.

Is this something to do with php not being enabled on geocities? (I uploaded this simpler php file just as a test)

I've never had so many replies on a forum in such a short space of time!

Here is the url:

http://www.geocities.com/avatar11235

index.php is the hello world file above.