Jump to content


Photo

i cant get this writing to a table in a db thing


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 master123467

master123467
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 6 posts

Posted 07 December 2005 - 04:05 AM

heres my cms.php im making click [a href=\"http://www.freepgs.com/fireballos/\" target=\"_blank\"].php file[/a]
in the same link there should be my .html file i tried to

right click and save as on the cms.php

plz help me plz

#2 Zup

Zup
  • Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 9 posts
  • LocationWinnipeg, MB

Posted 07 December 2005 - 07:39 AM

Paste your cms.php file here, I'll edit this and help you when you do.

#3 master123467

master123467
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 6 posts

Posted 07 December 2005 - 06:22 PM

changed the code check 3 posts down for the new code


#4 master123467

master123467
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 6 posts

Posted 07 December 2005 - 07:42 PM

ok i posted my cms.php code so do u think theres a way to fix it

#5 master123467

master123467
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 6 posts

Posted 08 December 2005 - 02:49 AM

plz i really need help

#6 master123467

master123467
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 6 posts

Posted 08 December 2005 - 03:45 AM

ok heres the new code
<?php
echo "<html>\n";
echo "<center>\n";
echo "<form name='CMS' method='post'  action='cms.php'>\n";
echo "<textarea cols='50' rows='4' name='CMS'></textarea>\n";
echo "<br>\n";
echo "<input type='submit' value='Submit' action=''>\n";
echo "<input type='reset'>\n";
echo "</center>\n";
echo "</form>\n";
echo "</html>";

$dbhost = 'localhost:';
$dbuser = 'root';
$dbpass = 'master';
$table ='announcements';
$column ='text';

$conn = mysql_connect($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpass) or die('connection not made');

$dbname = 'rockledge';
mysql_select_db($dbname);
$query = "INSERT INTO $table ($column) VALUES ( 1,$CMS)";
mysql_query($query);
mysql_close($conn)
?>
hope u can help me fix it well i no it connects but it wont write to the announcements table and the text (LONGTEXT) column and $CMS well $CMS i want to be the text tht is in the textbox but i cant figure out how to do tht so i dont no if its working or not

#7 Zup

Zup
  • Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 9 posts
  • LocationWinnipeg, MB

Posted 08 December 2005 - 04:16 AM

Be careful when you post scripts on here because often they will contain your password, like yours did. Now the line:
$query = "INSERT INTO $table ($column) VALUES ( 1,$CMS)";
will produce an error. You have to get rid of ($column). Next, you're inputting values (1, $CMS). I don't see anywhere in your code where $CMS is given a value. You're going to have to add this line before your query line somewhere in your code:
$CMS = $_POST['CMS'];
Now your 1 in there seems weird. I'm guessing that's a mistake too but since I can't see what your table structure is I can't be sure. Usually the first column in a table like this is your auto-increment variable, so replace 1 with '' (two single-quotes).

You also have a ton of unneccessary variables in there but that won't stop the script from working. Post here when you have tried this.

#8 master123467

master123467
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 6 posts

Posted 08 December 2005 - 08:56 PM

nope didnt work heres my code so far and master isnt my password all tht username and pass arent the really thing
<?php
echo "<html>\n";
echo "<center>\n";
echo "<form name='insert' method='post'  action=''>\n";
echo "<textarea cols='70' rows='12' name='CMS'></textarea>\n";
echo "<br>\n";
echo "<input type='submit' value='Submit'>\n";
echo "<input type='reset'>\n";
echo "</center>\n";
echo "</form>\n";
echo "</html>";

$CMS = $_POST['CMS'];
$dbhost = 'localhost';
$dbuser = 'root';
$dbpass = 'master';
$table ='announcements';


$conn = mysql_connect($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpass) or die('connection not made');

$dbname = 'rockledge';
mysql_select_db($dbname);
$query = "INSERT INTO $table VALUES ( '',$CMS)";
mysql_query($query);
mysql_close($conn)
?>


maybe if u would test out the code like make a database named rockledge with the pass of master and then a table named announcements with a column in that table named text and that column should be LONGTEXT




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users