Perl to PHP problem

pzt_penguin

Hi
I've been rewriting some old perl scripts to php and I'm stuck.
I'm a novice at best with php, but I've already transfered about 7
scripts to php. My problem right now is a mysql query.
[i]The Perl/CGI query[/i]
[code]
$query= "insert into $gametable ".
             "(user1,user2,yourname,opponentname,score,host,reportdate,time,comment,rating1,rating2,streak) ".
              "values ".
             "('$i{username}','$i{opponent}','$i{yourname}','$i{opponentname}','$score','$host',CURRENT_DATE(),CURRENT_TIME(),'$i{comment}','".$data->{rating}."','".$opponent->{rating}."','".$opponent->{winstreak}."')";
$insert=$dbh->prepare($query);
[/code]

I'm getting stuck at [b]'".$data->{rating}",'".$opponent->{rating}."','".$opponent->{winstreak}."'[/b]
[i]rating[/i] and [i]winstreak[/i] are fields in my DB. The problem I'm having is I can't figure out how to
prase that for php. Could anyone give me some pointers on how to prase this?

Here is The php query I have so far.
[code]
#Insert game data into the gametable
$sql_games = mysql_query("insert into $gametable ".
"(user1,user2,yourname,opponentname,score,reportdate,time,comment,rating1,rating2,streak) ".
                 "values ".
"('$username','$opponent','$yourname','$opponentname','$score','DATE()','localtime()','$comment','','','')")
                        or die (mysql_error());
[/code]
As you can tell I haven't finished the end of the query. Thanks in advance for the help. 8)

In perl it is refering to the opponent object's winstreak value.  In your perl script you say that the $data->{rating}, $opponent->{winstreak} and $opponent->{rating} are coming from the database...you need to execute those queries to get the results in another object...for this example I'll call them "data_query" and "opponent_query".

[code]//execute the data_query
$data_result = mysql_query($data_query);