Simple if (isset())

dyna1118

First off - Not trying to be an ahole but what kinda coding BB won't paste test from a text editor or IDE. I simply can't paste my code in here.

I don't code any one language continuously, any Lang when I need it, so I am no expert. The file that I uploaded, since I can't paste into this pane anyway possible. The output of this is either Brand: or Brand: (whatever you enter into the form). I doesn't evaluate to false like you would think it is suppose to. My ultimate goal is to print (echo) only is the form field is filled in. e.G Brand: Sony. If the field is not filled in, I want no output. With this code I get Brand:. it never evaluates completely to false (else - Not Set). Again I don't want anything at all if the form field is left blank, but I am getting Brand: Can someone please explain isset or provide a simple solution. And Maybe how to paste code into this pane. I have tried everything. or maybe they don't want code pasted here. It is my first time here.

isset.txt

first of all, there's no issue posting code from a programming editor -

if (isset($_POST['brand'])) {
          print "BRAND: " . $brand . "<br />";   

} else {

print "NOT SET";  
          }

you would need to state how you were attempting to post the code and what sort of problem or error you got in order get help with what was going wrong. i posted the above simply by selecting it (left-button drag over the text) and copying it (right-button. select the copy option) in my editor, then right-button, select the paste option, in the forum post where i wanted it to be placed.