Javascript: How to retrieve the computed value of an input

vincej
Go to solution Solved by kicken,

I am new to Javascript, so please forgive me if this is a dumb question

See attached screen shot. My JS code computes the value of "cost" and it sets it into the input of a a form using row.val(cost). When it has calculated all the costs for all the products, adding, subtracting and multiplying, I want to find the total. So, I now scan through all the cost inputs using an "each" method and create a sum total.

Problem: the calculated cost inputs are visible on the screen. If a user changes their mind about the quantity required on a particular line item, the grand total must be recalculated. However the line totals are calculated. Therefore, they do not appear in the source code, so, I can not grab them using the selector $("input.cost")

Question: How do I grab the values of the computed cost values which are visible in the input fields?

post-77950-0-51955800-1455917858_thumb.png

row.data('price')   // THIS IS DECLARED IN AN EARLIER FUNCTION. 
var runningTotal = 0; // THIS IS DECLARED AS A GLOBAL

$("input.quantity").on('change', function() {

var row = $(this).parents(':eq(1)').find('input').filter(".cost");
    var price = row.data('price');

if (price) {
        var quantity = parseFloat($(this).val());
        var cost = (price * quantity);

row.val(cost);  // COST INSERTED HERE!!

$("input.cost").each(function(){
                     var ic = $(this).val(); // TRIED USING HTML AND TEXT METHODS.  
                     var inputCost = Number(ic);
                     runningTotal += inputCost;
                 });

$("#total").val(runningTotal);

}

HTML for a typical row:  ( I am using Laravel Blade, however this is the rendered HTML) 

<div class="well form-group  ">
 <div class="col-sm-2 col-md-2"><label for="underlay2">Underlayments:</label></div>