Hey there!

I've got my "opening hours" managed via JS and atm it looks like this:

var checkTime = function () {
	"use strict";
    var now = new Date();
    var messageDiv = document.getElementById('messageDiv');
    var dayOfWeek = now.getDay();
    var hour = now.getHours(); 

if ((dayOfWeek > 0 && dayOfWeek < 3 && hour >= 9 && hour < 18) || (dayOfWeek > 3 && dayOfWeek < 6 && hour >= 9 && hour < 18) || (dayOfWeek === 6 && hour >= 10 && hour < 14) || (dayOfWeek === 3 && hour >= 9 && hour < 14)) {
        messageDiv.innerHTML = 'We are open!';
        messageDiv.className='open'; 

}
    else {
        messageDiv.innerHTML = 'We are closed!';
        messageDiv.className='closed';
    }
};

setInterval(checkTime, 1000);
checkTime();

Is there maybe a more "elegant" solution to this? .. I wanted to add launch break for every working from 12:00h to 13:00h and realized how messy it would get. I'm not that experienced with JS, so yeah, your help would mean a lot to me!

Thanks in advance!

Edited by Gomo

• 2 weeks later...

So a couple of things. 

Firstly, sure, there are more "elegant" ways of writing this if "make the shortest amount of code possible" is what you consider "elegant". However, I would argue what is more readable and flexible for yourself and other non/semi-coders in the future would be to have a lookup table of hours, Something along the lines of this (I think I got the hours of operation right, based on your condition):

function checkTime() {
    // array of 7 elements, one for each day of the week
    var hoursOfOperation = [
        // array of 24 elements, one for each hour of the day. 
        // 0 value means closed, 1 value means open
        [0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0], // sunday    - closed all day!
        [0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,0,0,0,0,0,0], // monday    - open 9a to 5p
        [0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,0,0,0,0,0,0], // tuesday   - open 9a to 5p