How to display selected option as default?

imbruceter

I'm quite new to PHP. I have a selection dropdown, which sends the data to the phpmyadmin database.
This works fine, but I'd like it to be selected as default when I'm opening it again.

Here is how my code currently looks like:

$category_query = "SELECT * FROM categories";
$categories = mysqli_query($connection, $category_query);
if (isset($_GET['id'])) {
    $id = filter_var($_GET['id'], FILTER_SANITIZE_NUMBER_INT);
}

<select name="category">
    <?php while ($category = mysqli_fetch_assoc($categories)) : ?>
    <option value="<?= $category['id'] ?>"><?= $category['title'] ?></option>
    <?php endwhile ?>
</select>

Here is what I've tried:

<option value="<?= $category['id'] ?>"><?= $category['title'] ? "selected" : ""?></option>

I basically just inserted "selected" into it, but it's not the correct way, because every single option is shown as "selected".

Here is an image about the frontend:

Does anyone know how to make it to work? This is the last thing I need to fix on the website.
Thank you for being here!

Képernyőfelvétel (492).png

48 minutes ago, Barand said:

Something like this

<select name="category">
    <?php while ($category = mysqli_fetch_assoc($categories)) : 
          $sel = $_GET['category']==$category['id'] ? 'selected' : '';
          echo "<option $sel value='{$category['id']}'>{$category['title']}</option>";
          endwhile;
    ?>
</select>

Thank you for your reply!

I inserted your coding and this is what I get:

Undefined index: category - which is this line: sel = $_GET['category']===$category['id'] ? 'selected' : '';

I've changed "category" to "id" because it is already defined, the warning disappears, but the problem is that "id" is the id of the post and not the category.

4 minutes ago, Barand said:

Then where are you holding the current value that you want to show as selected?

I have a different script where it gets handlet like this: