Using preg_match in my script

ironzero

Below is a script that passes data to a from with a URL, using for example: http://www,site,com/index.php?price=500&title=computer

[code]
<?php
function getIt($value){
  if($_GET[$value]){
    return $_GET[$value];
  }else{
    return "";
  }
}?>

<input type="text" name="price" value="<?php echo getIt("price")?>">
<input type="text" name="title" value="<?php echo getIt("title")?>">
[/code]

I'm still learning PHP, so my question is this...

I want to validate my input using preg_match, (I'm assuming this would be the easiest and most secure method).

How can I modify my script so that preg_match:

[b]ONLY[/b] accepts numbers, dollar signs and periods from:

and [b]ONLY[/b] accepts values containing letters and numbers from:

I want to use somthing like this:

if (preg_match('/^\d{5}(-\d{4})?$/',$_GET['zip'])) {
$zip = $_GET['zip'];
} else {
die('Invalid ZIP Code format');
}

Thanks!

[code]
<?php
  $num = '$123.45';
  // ^ is start of string $num
  // then match everything inside the [ ]
  // we only allow the following: dollar sign, numbers 0 through 9, and periods
  // * is for any amount of those allowed variables
  // $ is for end of string $num. the ^ at the beginning and $ on the end
  // makes sure that we only we only allow [$0-9.] for the entire string from
  // start to finish, not just some partial match inside the string
  if (!preg_match('/^[$0-9.]*$/',$num)) {
      echo "invalid";
  } else {
      echo "valid";
  }
?>
[/code]

[quote author=Crayon Violent link=topic=119591.msg489962#msg489962 date=1166755226]
[code]
<?php
   $num = '$123.45';
   // ^ is start of string $num
   // then match everything inside the [ ]
   // we only allow the following: dollar sign, numbers 0 through 9, and periods
   // * is for any amount of those allowed variables
   // $ is for end of string $num. the ^ at the beginning and $ on the end
   // makes sure that we only we only allow [$0-9.] for the entire string from