Deleting using a drop down menu

yogibear

Hi

I am very new to everything php so please go easy. This is what I want a drop down menu with content from a mysql database and when a user selects one of the options in the menu it is deleted from the database, is this possible.
This is what i have so far
[code]
<?php

$connect = mysql_connect("localhost","***","***") or
die ("Could not connect to database.");

mysql_select_db("***");

$result = mysql_query('SELECT last_name, first_name FROM userinformation')
or die (mysql_error());

echo '<select name="userlist">';
while ($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result))
{
echo '<option value="' . $row['last_name'] . '">' . $row['first_name']. '</option>';
}
echo '</select>';
?>[/code]

Many thanks I look forward to hearing from you
yogibear

[quote author=Crayon Violent link=topic=123164.msg508732#msg508732 date=1169232087]
okay, so you make a form with that dropdown loop, and when user selects the info and hits the submit button, delete from userinformation where last_name = $_POST['userlist']
[/quote]

One problem with that though is if there are two people with the same last name sign up, im not sure whether it would delete just 1 or both.

if you have a user_id column make that the option value. If you don't, create one. Make sure its auto incremented.

From the look of the coding you havnt got the form tags or a submit button on there so put one of the on.

Make the form action come back to the page your on and make the method="post".

add this before the $result query put this...

[code]
if (isset($_POST['userlist'])) {
  $user_id = $_POST['userlist'];

$result = mysql_query("DELETE FROM userinformation WHERE user_id={$_POST['userlist']}");
  $affrows = mysql_affected_rows();

if ($affrows = 1) {
      echo 'Successfully deleted user.<br><br>';
  }
}

// Display your existing code.
[/code]

You may also like to ask the user if they're sure about deleting the user so its not as easy to make a mistake.

Hope this helps. :)