[SOLVED] file_get_contents - issues with remote files

gregsmith

Hi there,

I'm currently a complete newb to remote file access (although not a newb to php). 

I started by trying just a standard include to the remote file I'm after but the server won't let me do this.  I also gather it's very insecure.

I came across the file_get_contents() function and it seems to work pretty well like:

echo file_get_contents("file.php");

I am, however, having trouble with mysql access.  The system I'm developing currently opens the database connection before the file is included so any sql in the included file is executed on the correct database.  Now that I'm using file_get_contents, this doesn't seem to work - I get an 'Warning: mysql_query() [function.mysql-query]: Access denied for user...' error.

Can anyone help me out with what might be going on?  Also any tips on how you do remote access would be great.

curl seems like a good thing to learn - however this system will likely be installed on many different servers, so I would rather stick to just PHP so I don't have to ask for curl to be installed.

To try and clarify:  The 'echo file_get_contents(included_file.php)'; seems to work as a fine substitute to include 'included_file.php'; apart from any sql that's in that file doesn't work.  The mysql connection script is executed before the file is included.

Any more help?

by 'got' I mean got the contents.

All I know is that the page works when I was using include 'file.php' and now it doesn't when I try and include it remotely using 'echo file_get_contents('file.php')'.  I'm just trying to include code from a remote location rather than a local location.  This is so I can use the same include files in a number of different installations of the same system so I don't have to keep updating 10's of local copies.

What's so 'Mad' about that?